Purley Pre-School

The Committee

Purley Pre School is a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO).

On Friday 29th September 2023 we transferred our status to a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO).  We began this process as it is increasingly difficult for Charity Pre Schools to recruit a committee of parents.  In 2022 we decided to change our legal structure to become a CIO and at the same time changed our consititution so we are no longer tied to having a parent led committee.

As a CIO, trustees are no longer held responsible for CIO debts, financial losses or liabilities.  We are also able to recruit trustees from the wider community  with members able to stay on the board for a longer period of time.  Our AGM is held every year in November and we hope this reassurance may encourage parents, grandparents or other interested parties to consider joining our board of trustees and having their say in the future running of Purley Pre School.

The role of Trustees is to run, support staff and raise funds for the Pre-School. As a charity, without our Trustees, Purley Pre-School would not exist.

In addition to raising money and organising events, Trustees are responsible for the Pre-School. We work with the staff members to ensure we meet the standards set by West Berkshire Council and Ofsted. Overall, our aim is to make Purley Pre-School a fun, enjoyable and safe place for our children to play and learn.

Becoming a Trustee is a good way to get to know other parents, take ownership of our Pre-school and to have fun at the same time.



I’ve enjoyed my time on the committee. It’s nice to know you’re giving something back to the local community as well as playing a part in your child’s early year’s development. It’s also great to help a community based pre-school for the benefit of others in the future.

Current Committee Member

Please don’t think that ‘someone else will volunteer’ please do get involved.

If you are interested in joining our Board of Trustees please do not hesitate to speak to one of the existing members from the list below who will be able to point you in the right direction.

  • Jay Dorrington- Chair
  • Gina Kimmins – Secretary
  • Kerry Savage – Treasurer (staff)
  • Emily Crowson – General Member
  • Alison Turner – General Member (staff)
  • Gemma Goodall – General Member